Baba Buhari where is your prudence?

Baba Buhari where is your prudence?

In all honesty, I would never have thought that, under Buhari administration, characters like Fayeso, Femi Kayode etc will remain free by now without having to be consigned to jail where they rightly belong. I said it elsewhere, and I’m repeating here with emphasis that I’m tired and sick with phenomena called Fayeso and FFK. Both constitute an axis of evil and I wonder why they still have the audacity to lambast PMB at any slightest opportunity despite the fact they both have huge skeleton in their cupboard.

More often than not, I can’t help but frantically ask myself “could this be Buhari”. I doubt if this is the same Buhari I knew 30 years ago. The Buhari I knew 3 decades ago never took the destructive criticism of high profile antagonist lightly. For this reason decree No 4 was promulgated to deal with such characters.

Yes, I know this is democratic dispensation but still criticism counts, and if left unchecked it will turn out to be more destructive in the long run than we begin to feel. It appeals to poor audience who can’t read realities the way they are and before you know it, it will begin to impact negatively or otherwise.

Don’t get me wrong, I care deeply for the freedom of speech and how pertinent it is for healthy society to thrive. But the way these people castigate and scold PMB is unacceptable. Yes, they heard him say he is a converted democrat and that is why they are over exploiting that provision to lambast him like hell.

But the thing is PMB must as a matter of expediency overstretch his muscle and borrow from his PAST to combat this media terrorists. I still maintain that Buhari as military General had more room for maneuverer to rule Nigeria than he would ever hope for in Nigerian dirty politics. Why, because Nigeria needs a Dictator. So far, Fayoses and FFK have vindicated my preposition.

There is Arab expression (as expounded by Imru’ul Qays, legendary Pre-Islamic poet) and it is true, “wa jurhul lisani ka jurhil yadi”; the damage of the tongue is the same as that of the hand; that is tongue creates havoc in much the same way as hand.

The onus now lies with PMB to either legally deal with these undesirable elements past enough or else they will potentially drag his government down. Allah kiyaye. As a matter of fact, Fayose, FFK and co are doing character assassination and spreading lies against PMB and his government. Hence, he should take legal action against them. No president takes inflammatory criticism lightly.

Ibrahim IIyasu, PhD

8/12/2015

Leave a comment